Gheorghi Arnaoudov

Gheorghi Arnaoudov (b. 1957)
Gheorghi Arnaoudov was born in Sofia, Bulgaria, to a family with a strong musical tradition. While attending the Pantcho Vladigerov Academy, Arnaoudov also studied composition in Florence under Brian Ferneyhough, where he explored electronic and concrète music. Upon graduation and completion of his studies abroad, Arnaoudov began establishing a reputation as dedicated composer as well as a theorist. Specializing in modern and postmodern aesthetics, communication and semiotics, he also set himself to exploring ancient and Far Eastern musical forms. To date, Arnaoudov has produced numerous symphonies, oratorios, and concertos, and has won several international prizes. He currently teaches music and theory at the National School of Music and at the New Bulgarian University.
Compared to composers such as Scriabin, Messiaen, Penderecki and Pärt, Arnaoudov is known for creating "a music of stasis, a kind of intense minimalism that tells no conventional stories but rather meditates on an idea." His works for the piano have distinguished him as a modernist innovator, one who looks at musical instruments as total items capable of many sounds, overtones, and resonances. Many have commented on the spiritual side of Arnaoudov's music, and indeed mysticism and ritual are two elements present in much of his work. Also inlfuential has been art, cinema and literature, with sources of inspiration including René Magritte, Tarkovsky, James Joyce, and Jorge Luis Borges.

Borges-Related Works

Ritual III: Borges Fragment -- (1992) A work located on the 1998 disc Compositions, this is a meditation for solo cello.

Arnaoudov on the Libyrinth

FOOTNOTE -- A work with a full title of: FOOTNOTE (...und Isolde/ns Winkfall lassen...) -- an imaginary interlude to the second act of "Tristan and Isolde" after the text of James Joyce (1991).

More Information

Concord Records maintains a small Biography page on Arnaoudov, as does the Classical Composers Database.

Gheorghi Arnaoudov Homepage is maintained at the New Bulgarian University.

The Sound of Silence -- This is a Web-based project by Arnaoudov, in collaboration with Larry Dean Miles and featuring Mila Iskrenova. According to the artists, SOS is "a visual soundscape which permeates the VR web with no respect for evolutions and revolutions but raising the awareness of the sound of silence. In some ways, the core of the SOS composition is in the long resonances of the clangorous sounds as they pile up and accumulate, filling the silences in the same way that smoke from a ritual fire fills the air. SOS is a web-debut of selected parts of Georgi Arnaoudov on-going research on the music of stasis, a kind of intense minimalism that tells no conventional stories but rather meditates on an idea."


How easy it would be not to think of a Quail! -- Send email to the Great Quail -- comments, suggestions, corrections, criticisms, submissions . . . all are welcome!

--A. Ruch
16 January 2003